Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

AGM signals optimism with announcement of new faces & strong financials

Sources Community Resources Society held its annual general meeting Tuesday evening at the White Rock Community Centre. Approximately 50 people attended to learn what the community-based non-profit organization has accomplished this past year and has planned for the future.

Bruce Hayne, president of the Society board of directors, thanked his fellow board members and SOURCES staff for the work they do in building “neighbourhoods” – the theme for the 2016-2017 annual report, which was distributed to attendees.

CEO David Young then spoke about the various neighbourhoods we live and work in – including White Rock, South Surrey, Newton, Ladner, Langley and Prince George – and how we can do more to help our neighbours.

Society treasurer Bryan Sommer reported that SOURCES’ financials remain strong. Auditor MNP’s regional manager Dave Mitchell echoed Sommer’s report, adding that “SOURCES is well positioned to take on new programs and services.”

Following that, Hayne formally introduced the new President of the Sources Foundation board of directors, who was in the crowd: former Surrey—White Rock MLA Gordon Hogg, who retired from a 40-year political career earlier this year.

We are humbled and honoured that Hogg chose SOURCES as the organization to contribute his time, knowledge and invaluable experience to, knowing that he had over a dozen offers to consider. He is an incredible asset to have on our board. We look forward to working with him to enhance and expand the ways we support our community,” said Young.

Next, keynote speaker Zahra Esmail spoke about the role of a Canadian in community development. A Development Champion with the Aga Khan Foundation Canada and Executive Director of South Vancouver Neighbourhood House, Esmail shared what she learned from her time as an international development consultant and how it taught her that “without local knowledge and engagement, even great intentions can cause a lot of problems.”

The 2017-2018 Society board of directors are: Bruce Hayne (President), Marlyn Graziano (Vice President), Bryan Sommer (Treasurer), Marc Burchell, Catherine Ferguson, Sara Forte, Leigh Sully, and Randy Taylor.

Click to Download PDF of Media Release